A DUI is a serious offense, punishable by driver’s license suspension, fines, and even a jail sentence. However, an intoxicated driver causes the death of another person may be charged with vehicular manslaughter in Idaho.
Vehicular manslaughter is defined as causing another individual’s death while operating a motor vehicle. There are two ways you can commit vehicular manslaughter in Idaho: (1) driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs and (2) committing a misdemeanor or traffic violation while driving in a negligent or grossly negligent manner.
Under the influence means having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent or being impaired by drugs or alcohol to the point that it negatively impacts a person’s driving. DUI-related vehicular manslaughter is a felony offense, which carries a maximum prison term of 15 years and/or a fine of up to $15,000.
On the other hand, vehicular manslaughter caused by negligence is a misdemeanor that carries a jail sentence of up to one year and/or a maximum fine of $2,000. However, grossly negligent vehicular manslaughter is a felony offense, punishable by imprisonment for up to ten years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000.
If a vehicular manslaughter charge involves the death of a child’s parent, then the sentencing judge can order the offender to pay child support until the child turns 18 years old. In addition, getting convicted of vehicular manslaughter can also result in license revocation, by either the court or the Idaho Department of Transportation.
If you or a loved one has been either arrested for DUI vehicular manslaughter or lost a loved one in a drunk driving accident in Pocatello, contact May, Rammell & Wells today at (208) 623-8021 for experienced legal representation. Serving the local community since 1976.