Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Idaho
According to Idaho workers’ compensation laws, multiple benefits are available to injured workers. Below is an in-depth look into each one of those benefits.
If you suffer an injury or illness at the workplace, you must seek immediate medical attention. If the situation is an emergency, you may check into the nearest hospital or doctor’s office. For non-emergency care, however, Idaho has certain rules that you must abide by when it comes to selecting a doctor for treatment.
You must ask your employer if there is a designated medical provider prior to seeking non-emergency treatment. Your employer has the authority to determine which physicians will treat work-related injuries and illnesses. If your employer has a designated physician, you must obtain the approval of your employer to seek treatment with another medical provider.
Your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company is required to cover all “reasonable and necessary” medical treatment related to your work injury or illness. Your health care providers will bill your employer’s insurance company.
Workers’ compensation covers the following costs:
- Hospital stays
- Physical therapy
- Some transportation
Temporary Total & Partial Disability
If you are unable to work for more than five days as a result of injury or illness, or if you are hospitalized as an in-patient, you are entitled to temporary total disability (TTD) payments for lost wages while you are not able to work and receiving treatment. The weekly amount (income benefit allowance) is often two-thirds of your average weekly wage.
If you are allowed to return to part-time or modified work while you are still recovering, you may recover temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits. If you pay is less than your typical earnings, you may receive TPD benefits from the workers’ compensation insurance company.
Permanent Impairment & Disability Benefits
If you become permanently disabled (partial or total) due to a workplace injury or illness, you are entitled to permanent disability benefits. The amount of benefits you receive and how you will receive them is based on the nature and significance of your permanent disability.
Your doctor will evaluate your impairment and determine a level or percentage of your disability. The percentage will be multiplied by 500 weeks, which is the duration of a person with 100% permanent impairment would receive benefits. The result is the number of weeks you will receive permanent partial impairment (PPI) benefits for, at a rate of 55% of the state average weekly wage.
For example, if you receive a 30% impairment rating and the state average weekly wage is $684, you are entitled to 150 weeks (30% x 500) at a rate of $376.20 (55% x $684), which amounts to $56,430 total.
The benefits will be paid on a monthly basis, or in other cases, a lump sum. Additionally, if your permanent disability will not allow you to return to work, you might be eligible for additional permanent partial disability benefits and vocational retraining services.
For more information about workers’ compensation benefits, schedule a free consultation with our Pocatello workers’ comp lawyers at May, Rammell & Wells today.